Giannis Antetokounmpo Named Back-T0-Back NBA MVP

Embed from Getty Images

Giannis Antetokounmpo was named MVP of the NBA on Friday, making him the first player since Steph Curry (in 2015 and 2016) to win the award in back-to-back seasons.

Giannis Antetokounmpo is the 11th player in the history of the NBA to win Most Valuable Player back-to-back.

This year, Giannis beat out James Harden and LeBron James for the award.

There has been a lot of chatter from sports analysts expressing their desire for the NBA to extend the MVP award through the playoff season instead of it remaining a regular-season award.

Which makes no sense to me because the NBA has a Finals MVP award for a player on the team that wins the Championship.

During the 2020 regular season, Giannis averaged 29.5 points, 13.6 rebounds, 5.6 assists, 1 steal, and 1 block per game.

He led his Milwaukee Bucks team to a 53-12 record before the NBA Bubble games started.

The Bucks were 7th overall in offense and 1st in defense, which garnered Giannis his first Defensive Player of the Year award.

Only Michael Jordan and Hakeem Olajuwon have won NBA MVP and NBA Defensive Player of the Year awards in the same year.

Giannis has had a great year statistically, but the Bucks were surprisingly upset by the Miami Heat in the second round of the Bubble Playoffs, after being favored to be the team to make it to the Finals.

Congratulations to Giannis for both of his awards this year, I know he will elevate his game even more next season.

Source: CBS Sports

About author


Jaron Bryant (JB) is a staff writer for Ice Cream Conversations. He’s a sports enthusiast and a Hip Hop lover. Visit our About page for more.
Don't Miss Our Scoop
Sign up to get the top stories in entertainment and celebrity news delivered to your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − three =